The Divine Trinity

Core Doctrines
Core Doctrines
Core Doctrines

The Divine Trinity consists of three Persons: God the Father, Jesus Christ the Son, and the Holy Ghost, perfectly united as one. (Matthew 3:16-17; 1 John 5:7)

The Father, the Son, and the Holy Ghost are separate and distinct Persons, possessing recognizable personalities and qualities, perfectly united in One. They are not to be thought of in any sense, as merely three names for one Person.

The doctrine of the Trinity begins to develop in the first chapter of the Bible: "And God said, Let us make man in our image" (Genesis 1:26). The plural forms "us" and "our" indicate that the Godhead consists of more than one individual. Almost invariably throughout the Bible, the Hebrew word translated as "God" is Elohim, and this is the plural form.

With the coming of Jesus Christ to earth, mankind was able to observe the mysterious reality of the Triune God as never before. In Matthew 3:16-17, we read of the cooperation of the three Persons of the Godhead at the baptism of Jesus in what is perhaps the clearest picture of the Trinity presented in Scripture.

Matthew 28:19-20; John 14:26; 2 Corinthians 13:14